Skip to content ↓

School Governors

King's Academy Northern parade is a Kings Group Academy and as a part of a Multi-Academy Trust, the Governors of the school are delegated powers by the Trust Board to oversee governance at a local level, on behalf of the main Trust Board. The Local Governing Body also exercises the same responsibility for College Park Infants School, which is also a part of the Kings Group Academies.

The Chair of Governors is Hugh Whitaker (contactable through the school office).

As Governors, we aim to work in conjunction with parents, staff and other stakeholders of both schools to exercise a local form of governance that is responsive and reflects the voice of the community we serve.

The Local Governing Body is a team of people who work closely with the Executive Headteacher to make key decisions to enable the successful running of the school and ensure that it delivers high quality education.

Governors have a number of roles.  The three main ones are:

  • to provide strategic direction to the school.
  • to ensure accountability and in particular the safety of children and staff at the school.
  • to act as a critical friend to the Executive Headteacher.

Other roles cover: monitoring how the school budget is spent; forming policy on the school's curriculum and collective worship; setting and monitoring standards for pupils; setting the policy for admissions to the school; appointing staff and hearing appeals.

Governors come from all sections of the community, parents, business management and a host of other skills. All can offer extremely helpful expertise to the school, work as part of a team and give commitment to the school.  Although the role can be very demanding it is very rewarding and is a good way to give back to your community. 

Hugh Whitaker

Chair of Governors

Committee Membership
Name LGB Membership/Governor Type Role/Responsibilities Relevant interests Appointed by
Kathryn Wilden  Headteacher Pay Committee N/A Trustees
Hugh Whitaker King's Appointee

Char of LGB


Trustee Honeypot Children's Charity

Trustte Whitaker Beeston 

Acting Char KACP LGB

Sarah Rose KANP Staff 


Pupil Premium

N/A Trustees
Zoe Martin KANP Parent

Behaviour & Attitudes


Mental Health

Pay Committee

Discipline Committee

Admissions Committee

MOD Employee Trustees
Oliver Stone King's Appointee

Vice Chair

Curriculum & Quality of Education

PGS Employee Trustees
Sarah Stewart King's Appointee

Personal Development

Pay Committee

N/A Trustees
Ella Skelley  King's Appointee Safeguarding KANP Parent Trustees
Elizabeth Smith  KANP Parent Early Years KANP Parent Trustees


     PREVIOUS LGB GOVERNORS (2020 - 2021 & 2022 - 2023)

  1. Mrs D Anderson 
  2. Mrs J Litton 
  3. Mrs Y Light
  4. Mrs S Major
  5. Mr A Binyon
  6. Mrs J Chambers
  7. Warren Beadell 
  8. Paul Williams
  9. Beth Taylor
  10. Julie Wilson